Thomas More College

Light of Saints

O Thomas More unite us
In a circle of true friends
Integrity and service
Guide our purposes and ends

May the binding ties of family
Stay close within our sight
Uphold the seat of wisdom
For our dear old Blue and White

Fond memories and friendship
Draw us through the passing years
We gather round the table
Share our laughter and our tears

Our shining light, our history
Passing on through Murphy Hall
The grotto and the chapel
All the places we recall

Upon the humble path we walk
For our work is never done
Until light conquers darkness
And we all shall rise as one

As Saints we stand together
Through the years, each waking day
We'll strive to make a difference
And the Truth will light our way

Thomas More College Alma Mater: "Light of Saints"
Lyrics: Sherry Cook Stanforth, TMC Professor of English
Music: Brianna Erne '13
Harmony: Rebecca Schaffer Wells 83

Alma Mater Advisory Committee:
Patrick Eagan '01, Brianna Erne '13, Ray Hebert, Lauren Helton '11, Monica Ginney '93, Sherry Cook Stanforth, Fr. Gerald Twaddell, Rebecca Schaffer Wells '83.

Home > Alumni > Thomas More College Announces Official Alma Mater Song

Thomas More College Announces Official Alma Mater Song

"Light of Saints" to debut publicly at commencement

Thomas More College is held dear in the hearts of many, especially its alumni. And, while many have no trouble singing its praises to others as they reminisce about times on campus, long-standing friendships formed, professors they still keep in touch with or the rich tradition of quality, faith-based education they received, it's only now that they can literally sing about their alma mater. On November 27, 2012 the Thomas More College Alumni Association Board of Directors, led by President Wayne Wycoff '97, officially approved "Light of Saints," which honors the history of the College and celebrates the pride that embodies the Thomas More College experience, as its official alma mater song.

TMC Alumni Relations Director Monica Ginney explained the process behind the adoption of the alma mater song, "A 'TMC Alma Mater Advisory Committee' was comprised during the summer of 2011. A slate of monthly meetings began in earnest in September once faculty and students were back on campus. The committee felt the song should reflect all aspects of the College: the previously named Villa Madonna College era, TMC days after the renaming and relocation, as well today. We wanted all constituents to be able to identify with the song's lyrics. Key words became the main topic of conversation for several months, in addition to a timeline leading to the unveiling."

Monica described the talent behind the music. "English Professor Sherry Cook Stanforth generously gave of her time to forge the actual lyrics and the song's title. Senior student Brianna Erne was inspired to write the music. She literally came upon divine intervention when she was sitting in the old TMC chapel relaxing and playing the piano when she said that a tune just popped into her head and she started playing it and didn't stop. Once Brianna played the tune for a few committee members, tears were rolling down each of their faces. Music instructor and alumna Rebecca Schaffer Wells created harmony and sheet music for it."

The alma mater song "Light of Saints" was unanimously approved by the Alumni Association Board of Directors on November 27, 2012 - a little over a year after the committee set out to accomplish its goal of creating a song that would resonate with alumni of all ages. Currently, the lyrics to "Light of Saints" can be found on the Alumni Association's website, An instructional video is also available there to teach everyone the new song. On May 11, 2013, "Light of Saints" will be publicly debuted at commencement.

Approved November 27, 2012 by the TMC Alumni Association Board of Directors:
Annette Brink '77, Patrick Eagan '01, Lou Esselman '81, Christopher Fischer '95, Diana (Thomas) Henke '83, Amity (Yeager) Kukla '01, Anita (Scheper) Stautberg '64, Jim Stautberg '65, Brad Voegele '01, John Wenderfer '71, Alice (Rabe) Wintersheimer '56, President Wayne Wycoff '97, and Vice President Ted Zalla '90.